People generally know that the environment is important. However, most individuals still don’t take responsibilities to protect the environment. Why is this? What should be done to encourage people to protect the environment?

Most individuals is aware that how much the environment mean to us. Nonetheless, not everyone is actively playing their parts in reserving the environment. This mainly due to the lack of insight on the global environment issues in each person. In order to tackle this problem, government should implement laws and organise programmes to raise awareness. Individual are passive in participating in activities that involve in saving our environment because they do not see the big picture. Despite our planet is endangered by massive human activities, most people daily life is not directly affected yet. Although these information are available on different media, the message do not reach every citizen effectively. For instances, majority of television programmes focus on entertaining shows while boring documentary TV programmes on environment are often ignored. In this case, the government plays an essential role in raising people’s awareness on environmental issues. Firstly, the government can imposed rules to different media to ensure latest news updates about the environmental problems reached the community thoroughly. An example is to make awareness videos and make it compulsory to play them in the cinema before movie starts. On top of that, government can organise related programmes that involve all citizen. While recycling waste is one of the best way every individuals can practice to contribute to our environment, the government can make it mandatory or subsidise those who recycle. In conclusion, every person in the community has responsibility in defending our environment and should work hand on hand with the government in order to make our planet a cleaner and safer place to stay.