Advances in technology and automation have reduced the need for manual labour. Therefore, working hours should be reduced. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Technological advancements over the last decade have had a significant impact on the labour force. As expected, automation is taking over every industry at a pace faster than anticipated, thereby reducing the reliance on manual effort to perform these tasks. In my opinion, with machines taking over repetitive tasks, the number of hours at work should be decreased, enabling humans to experience a better quality of life. To begin with, the technological improvements and computerization in an office greatly enhance the productivity of people. As a result, staff can produce more output and perform efficiently. For example, in the pre-computer era, bank cashiers had to work manually, check the ledger books, verify a person’s identity and then pay a customer. Moreover, at end of the day, he or she had to calculate all the transactions, before he or she could leave the office. However, this is no longer the case with automation in the baking industry, A cashier can serve multiple customers in comparatively less time, and at the end of the day, the banking software does the calculation. Hence, reducing the working hours seems quite logical to me. Furthermore, motivating employees and retaining them are two challenges every organization is facing nowadays. Reducing the working hours could be a better solution in achieving better success in the long run. Employees should be given more time to spend quality time with their families to establish a better professional and work-life balance. To conclude, considering everything, I personally believe that the working hours of the employees should be reduced as it would motivate staffs and help organizations to retain better performing employees and generate more output.