In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people believe that since reading anything will be available online to read for free, no one will purchase paper books and newspapers in future. I strongly agree with this view mainly because of the advertising market and raising awareness of the environment. To start with publishers, authors and journalists will be able to earn money by advertising products and services. To put it in other words, in the future, everyone will have access to the internet, which will allow them to see ads online. As a result, businesses will spend more on such ads internationally, and publishers will publish everything online for free to increase the number of views and receive more ads. This will lead everyone to read online and save money. Moreover, protecting the environment is another reason. The lack of resources such as trees and water will be an issue to be considered in the future. People will, therefore, prevent deforestation by cutting paper use. Environmental disasters, take as an example pollutions, would lead people to be more concerned about the environment, and they will avoid printed materials to decrease lead pollution and paper waste. Some may argue that reading on a screen would be annoying and unhealthy since it causes eye strain and headaches, especially for people with weak eyesight. To conclude, I think developments in device technologies will overcome such issues, and printed newspapers or books will not be bought anymore in the future because people will have free access to anything they want to read online.