Most countries want to improve the standard of living through economic development, however, others think social value is lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

Some people hold a belief that improving people ’s standard of living by stimulating the economy would be in exchange for social value. The essay below aims to present why I personally disagree with this conviction since I believe that the drawback that economic development brings about will pale in significance compared to its benefits. On the one hand, there are many merits behind the development of the economy. Firstly, a thriving economy is associated with a high standard of living. Given the fact that the government can have more financial budget to invest in people's education, they can ensure to have a decent job to increase their income. Another compelling reason is synonymous with people ’s health. Thanks to economic development, they can enjoy a better healthcare system to guarantee good health conditions. On the other hand, those who believe that economic development entails social value loss have their own arguments. They think that economic development is associated with international integration, which is considered to contribute to distinct culture loss. For example, people, especially young people, tend to gravitate to imported items rather than using domestic ones. However, what they fail to take into consideration is when one country cannot cater for basic human needs, they are likely to leave their home country for a more developed education, which can cause brain drain. Consequently, poverty can worsen in that country. Last but not least, social value is synonymous with what passes down from generation to generation. This means that it is not easy to lose, not to mention that people can be encouraged to preserve these spiritual values. In conclusion, from my own perspective, I am of the opinion that the benefits brought about overshadow the aforementioned repercussions.