Some people think that people in senior positions alone make decision in a business, while others think that employees should be involved in the decision-making process too. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The business world, like most occupations, relies on a hierarchy system that experience years determines the decision making power. However, there is an argument whether only senior positions should make decisions or employees' voices should be considered as well. This essay will discuss both perspectives. First of all, seniors in a workplace are respected as expertise and trusted to be in charge of overall management in various organizations. For example, managers or heads of projects mostly are older age who have been working for many years in the company. The idea is based on seniority and top-to-bottom management with the belief that the one who is in charge needs to be the eldest. On the other hand, the recent trend is flat organization structure, in which all voices are taken into consideration. For illustration, all workers are believed as equal and work as a team rather than having a leader so the decision making usually done by voting and open discussions. This uprising style is well-known in small shops or start-up companies.  In conclusion, both points of view have their own strength and weakness which should be applied according to the nature of the individual organization. This essay supports the flat organization concept due to its value of respecting everyone as equal. Furthermore, in my opinion, seniority is not always mean knowing the best. The young generation is also capable of managing and they are still young so their ideas are expected to be fresh and up-to-date. Therefore, not listening to them would limit an opportunity for new innovations or developments.