When designing a building the most important factor is intended use of the building rather than its outward appearance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people hold the view that the most vital element when design a building is the intended use of it than its external design. While I agree how a building is used is a key factor, I still believe that the outward appearance also holds an important role. When it comes to design a building, its functionality must be prioritize. This is due to the fact that a construction is built for it specific purposes, if it cannot perform its basic functions then its appearance is not worth considering. For instance, when the architect erect a hospital, they have to calculate the size and location of each functional room, especially the emergency room has to be located rationally or it may cause problems. Nevertheless, I would argue that the intended use of a building may not be the most important when comparing to its outer design because of several reasons. A reason worth mentioning is that it could help attract more visitors and boost local tourism. For example, Landmark 81 has a unique bamboo design, this may peak interest and curiosity of visitors and make them want to come and find out more. In some buildings like hospital, a patient room which is well-designed can help patient release stress and enhance their mental well-being. In conclusion, while I agree the intended use of the building is crucial, I am of the opinion that the outer design is also at the same position.