Some people think space research is a waste of money. The government should spend that money on the improvement of people’s living conditions. What is your opinion on this IELTS topic?

Governments waste vast amounts of money on space research without major benefits when these resources should be used for improving the lives of other people on the poor side of the world. Huge amounts of funds are used for a single space trip not to mention the impact of launching these rockets on the environment and the damage on the ozone layer, not to mention the huge amounts of staff,scientists and expensive technology used without an equal return on humanity, Also most scient are trying to find other planets instead of our beloved earth to colonize in while leaving the rest of us for doom with our diminishing planet. These enormous amounts of effort and goods should be used in enhancing the Earth that we polluted only in the course of the last century by cutting hectares of rain forests and overuse of fossil fuel and start to look for alternatives like clean energy and trying to stop nature damaging.Continents life Africa should be the concern of these governments as this money should be utilized in the education,health and welfare of them,As it is inhumane to let these people starve and we go into space and leave them. To conclude, major governments should invest more in humanity and our nature as our lives depend on them and all these space researches would not be needed anymore.