Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the Internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Online teaching has become popular nowadays. Esteem universities and colleges are providing several distant learning programs on the internet. It has been hailed as a boon for students in a wide variety of ways. However, this is not to say that it is without blemishes. This essay is an attempt to evaluate whether its benefits are greater than its drawbacks or not. On the positive side, those students who cannot afford to go to college due to any reason now can receive education from the comfort of their homes. Furthermore, working professionals opt for these courses to get promotions in their fields, which help them to climb the ladder of success and to become financially well-off. Moreover, with the advancement in technology and the internet, it has now become easier for everyone to get qualified from eminent universities, In addition, learning platforms like Coursera, Udemy are providing vocational learning programs, which helps younger to accomplish skills that are necessary to become job-ready. Also, another feather to the cap of online training is learning from top-notch and experienced teaching staff. On the negative side, however, distance learning can be ineffective in many ways. Lack of social and physical interaction is one of the main reasons, which is typically not seen in the classrooms. Students can only engage in virtual chat and broadcasts and cannot physically interact for their doubts. This mode of study is not fit for every learner. Conventional teaching methods, on the other hand, are more impactful because direct communication is possible. Moving on to the more reasons such as social gatherings, college fests and many more events cannot be organised online. In conclusion, it can be established that the merits of learning from the internet are numerous and certainly outweigh its demerits. The negative aspects of it are, no doubt, several. But once they are overcome, online education can certainly be termed as a blessing for learners.