Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Being adept in foreign languages has become essential nowadays, as it creates an opportunity for people to move in abroad for jobs. Few experts claim that it is necessary to teach such languages at an early age in primary schools. This essay is an attempt to evaluate whether its benefits are greater than its drawbacks or not. On the positive side, the learning abilities and grasping power of children is way more powerful compared to an adult. In addition, it has been observed that a child's brain has more capacity for keeping information until the age of 13. Moving on to the more reasons, as learning a new language is not easy, so it is better to build the foundation as early as possible. By doing so there is a chance, these students will become better and fluent when they reach secondary school. On the negative side, however, focusing on teaching a foreign language to an infant can be problematic in many ways. It is easier and important for a newborn to learn the mother tongue. In addition, surrounding and environment also plays a vital role in determining the first language. Moreover, it is known that learning two languages simultaneously is not practical. Thus, more emphasis should be put on teaching the first language at the primary level. Also, if students have a good grip on one language, then learning second would not be difficult for them. In conclusion, it can be established that the demerits of teaching a second language are numerous and they certainly outweigh its merits. The positive aspects of it are, no doubt, several. But it is more important to teach primary language to an infant.