In many countries, prison is the most common solution for crimes. However, many think that better education is the most effective way to prevent people from committing further crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

To a certain extent, I believe that prison sentences are an effective solution to reduce the rate of crimes. I also think that, however, education should be considered as a similarly important way that controls human break-law activities. On the one hand, imprisonment is an effective way of dealing with criminals. First of all, prison is seen as a punishment of deterrent which in which offenders have to pay for their unlawful actions. They are isolated from society, face the loss of freedom as well as suffer separation from their loved ones as a consequence when they commit a crime. Furthermore, serious criminals, murders and rapists, for example, must be imprisoned for a long term so that they are no longer a danger to the community. Last but not least, prison sentences is a warning for people who are intending to engage in unlawful activities or for those who continue to be involved in such punishable criminal offences. On the other hand, education serves as a remedy for the origin of crimes. The young people who get better educational programmes would have well-informed communication. Not only they have aware of breaking the law would damage their society and themselves, but they also are better prepared to avoid situations in which they would become a victim. It can be seen that psychology education, which helps people recognize and control their negative emotions may lead them to do wrong actions. With the inmates, education services, such as vocational training or community services, are seen as a rehabilitation that provides prisoners skills and qualifications to reintegrate community after being released. As a result, the rehabilitated prisoners might have a lower risk of being re-offended. In conclusion, it seems to me that both imprisonment and education have their own validity, and there is no way to deduce whether which one takes the dominant role in dealing with crimes as they both tackle the problems in different ways.