some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. why is this the case? do you think this is a positive or negative development?

These days it seems that smartphones are utilized by some children for long hours daily. In this article, I aim to dispute the reasons for this and it should be mentioned that despite the arguments made by various people, I personally believe that it cannot be considered as a positive advancement. Thanks to the advent of technology, smartphones are becoming popular among adolescents recently. There are several reasons that children are keen on spending long hours using their smartphones. Chief among these reasons is that by applying them, not only can teenagers take it as a multiple asset to perform various affairs to amuse themselves, but also they will be able to communicate with their friends during the day by sending messages. Take playing games, browsing the web, and taking selfie pictures as salient examples of using smartphones as practical tools as well as amusement. However, it should be taken into consideration that it would cause negative impacts on kids. The most significant effect is that the more time children spend using smartphones, the less concentration they can have on their lessons. Furthermore, their health can be influenced by playing with smartphones, leading to eye problems. Another scenario which should be taken into account is that if they devote their quality time to smartphones, they will not be active any more, resulting in obesity and perhaps heart disease in the future; meanwhile, parents are responsible for tackling this issue under any circumstances. By way of conclusion, I would restate my position in favor of wasting hours on smartphones which has negative effects on children`s well-being. Thus, this will not be regarded as a positive development due to kids` health is more vital than entertainment.