Some people think that children should begin their formal education at a very early age. Some think they should begin at 7 years old at least. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, there have been arguments about youngster’s appropriate school age. While some believe they ought to start formal education in early stages of life, I would argue 7-year-old children are more capable of attending school. Those believing in the necessity for the young to start schooling as soon as possible are sensible in some ways. From the competition perspective, provisions of formal education at a young age can help some children minimise the risk of falling behind with peers. This is because they may have more time to receive ample academic knowledge and vocational training. As a result, by the time youngsters reach their maturity, they are well-equipped with technical expertise to encounter the employment world. In contrast, without necessary training and education at an early age, they might lose some opportunities that benefit their promotion prospects and career expansion in the future. However, I would subscribe to the notion that 7-year old children or above showcase more capabilities to receive education. On a psychological level, at this age, they are more able to handle academic stress. The reason for this is schools tend to hold high expectations for high achievers, which presents unbearable pressure for the young below 7 years of age. Consequently, their mental well-being could suffer from a severe blow due to anxiety from grades and scores. Moreover, before their schooling period, they may not be deprived of chances to enhance necessary soft skills. Play-based learning, for instance, does not only enrich their spiritual fulfillment but also fosters their observation and problem-solving ability which are pivotal to children ’s general development. In conclusion, despite the competitive advantage of early schooling, I believe children above 7 years old beginning education obtain more benefits in terms of psychology and skill-based development.