some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes ( for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is known that youngsters education is a crucial part of societies worldwide. Some may think that working as sports professors, helping in a charity or improving the neighbourhood without receiving any payment should be a mandatory activity for students in high schools. I partially agree with the statement due to the several drawbacks that distractions can cause to students futures. On the one hand, developing an extra activity would be beneficial for many people in the long term. Increasing young people skills could be the main benefit. For instance, teamwork skills would increase dramatically by teaching sports to younger children. Even though some youngsters are not experts, sports like basketball and football soccer are relatively easy to teach and play. Then, students would learn values as respect, patience, and teamwork, while younger children would learn how to play. Learning to respect labour hours and organising events in a charity are others advantages of compulsory activities. As a result, in a few more years, more skilful people would attend tertiary education. On the other hand, distractions from academic tasks could have negative impacts in individuals lives. Most inhabitants make a constant effort throughout secondary education to secure their place at universities. Therefore, activities such as cleaning streets or taking care of parks could result in a distraction to several youngsters. Also, some individuals try to avoid academic responsibilities. Furthermore, another drawback is that some may prefer doing community service than doing homework. However, developing community service only during leisure time could diminish the negative aspects. To conclude, I can not completely agree with the compulsory extra activities as part of school programs because individuals have to be focus on academic subjects. Yet, in order to increase youngsters skills, a balance can be found by using their leisure time to this purpose.