On vehicle-free day, private cars, trucks and motorcycles are banned in the city centre while the public transport is permitted such as bicycle, buses and taxis. Do the benefits of vehicle- day outweigh the disadvantages?

Some people find a vehicle-free day inconvenient because they are not allowed to use their private vehicles. However, it is necessary to acknowledge that using public transportations has beneficial effects on the environment that outweigh this disadvantage. To begin with, it is true that people might experience inconvenience on a vehicle-free day since they need to use public transports like buses and bicycles to travel in a city. In particular, taking a bus to do some grocery shopping can be tiring and time-consuming due to the limited routes buses have. For this reason, individuals might have to wait a long period of time to arrive at their destinations while caring heavy grocery bags with them. This shows that not being able to drive private transports can be an inconvenience to some people. Regardless of these downsides, there are many benefits of a vehicle-free day. Firstly, it is beneficial to the environment. A number of environmental experts have long suggested that excessive car ownership is one of the causes that pollute the environment, especially the air. Prohibiting private vehicle uses contributes to reducing air pollution while slowing the environmental destruction that human activities are causing. Hence, practicing a vehicle-free day is good for the environment and far more important than traveling easily in a city. In conclusion, a vehicle-free day reduces air pollution and saves the environment from being destroyed at a fast rate. Therefore, despite the inconvenience that individuals might experience, vehicle-free days can provide more advantages than disadvantages.