Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

More and more people have chosen to start up their businesses in recent years instead of working for others. There are significant reasons behind this, and negative impacts will be discussed as follows. Nowadays, individuals, especially the youngsters, acknowledge their desirabilities and how to get there. Therefore, they become more independent and do not hesitate to follow their dreams. For instance, Mark Zuckerberg, the founder of Facebook, and Elon Musk, the founder of Tesla, are models for successful young people with enterprising spirits. In addition, individuals have more opportunities to get higher education than their previous generations in this modern society. At the same time, they can easily access all the necessary information, thanks to advanced technology and the growth of social channels. Those factors firm their ability, confidence, and justification. As a result, they tend to be reluctant to follow the inadequate orders of their upper managers and prefer adopting their perspectives and strategies. Taking the founder of ICP-Xmen, a very successful Vietnamese shampoo for men brand, as an example, he had used to be an excellent Unilever employee before he resigned to actualize his idea of creating shampoo for men products, which Unilever turned down. It is undeniable that a self-employed spirit can benefit individuals and the entire economy in various aspects, such as encouraging creativity, actualizing new ideas, and creating social wealth. However, it has some drawbacks that cannot be ignored. The most striking disadvantage is that it weakens the workforce. Specifically, the current labour force is growing older while fewer and fewer young people are willing to join this force. Instead, they prefer starting their businesses. Another significant drawback is the dispersion of social resources. If everyone focuses on their start-ups, which are regularly small in size, fewer and fewer large enterprises will form and weaken the economy overall. In conclusion, it is understandable why people prefer to be self-employed. Nonetheless, this can lead to a bad economic situation without any orientation.