In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It can be predicted that all the vehicles that run on the roads will be implanted the function of autonomous driving in the future. The supporters of self-driven cars are pleased to witness every progress that has been made and look forward to its realisation as soon as possible, whereas some other people still remain concerned with the possible problems caused by this technology. This passage will take a close look at both the potentials and hidden drawbacks of driverless vehicles. To begin with the most widely approved benefit of autonomous driving, it will remarkably reduce the accident ratio. So far, a lot of research and inspections have been conducted and reveal that computer driving beats human driving in the facets of both the ratio and intensity of traffic accidents. Correspondingly, the accidental possibility may be cut down to a rather low level as soon as autonomous driving gets widely popularised. Especially, it may be even more significant to apply driverless technology in those jobs which need to transport goods through dangerous areas. Besides saving lives, driverless technology may optimise people's daily life with higher efficiency in the use of cars and car maintenance, because what an autonomous car can do is not limited to eliminating the drivers. The cars will be able to manage themselves with their improved "brains", such as regular self-cleaning in service stations and driverless fetching and delivery. Although the many advantages, including those mentioned above, ethical problems, due to how an autonomous car will act when facing an accident that can not be completely avoided, might be the most debatable and remains inescapable, just like the last missing piece of a jigsaw. However, there is very unlikely to be a 100% perfect solution to any problem, or say it impossible. The ethical problem is important, but actually, its importance just means it is very worthy to give all efforts to keep improving driverless technology. What can be expected is that people can travel much safer as long as driverless cars come true. To conclude, driverless technology is very likely to benefit all mankind in general, though there must be some ethical issues to overcome. Therefore, I believe driverless technology will change people's lives in good ways.