There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than continual assessment. What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment?

The students' assessments have always been a highly controversial issue. It is believed that testing is becoming more and more popular by many instead of recurrent assessment. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of mid-term or final exams. Looking at the positive side, there is no shadow of a doubt that one single testing could provide a rivalry role which affects positively on the learning process rather than periodic tests. This is evidenced by junior schools in Iran, where children have received a reward and applauded in front of the crowd after earning an acceptable grade in tests. Furthermore, by monthly analysis, eductors have the tendency to prepare themselves and organize a study plan for the scrutinies and eventually make good in tests. Therefore, being evaluated through final tests could bring several benefits in different domains of skill enhancement. Looking at the negative sides, first of all,unlike the recurrent assessments, enlistments do not have the opportunity for trying harder and make up their mistakes as they might be scrutinized once only. Secondly, this way of judging might cause a huge amount of pressure on the test takers as this could be the only chance for them and they may miss the chance of reaching their goals as a result of excess affective burden. For instance, in Japan, there is a staggering rate of depression among high school students due to the fact that they feel insecure and have a lack of confidence in evaluation. To conclude, sessional experiments is less popular with people rather than monthly trials which have several shortcomings such as exacerbating emotional hardships and second- chance deprival. However, it has a myriad of advantages such as playing a rewarding role and similarly competitive as well as preparing an organized plan for students.