In the past shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby. To what extent do you think this is positive trend?

In former times, shopping used to be an everyday household chore in which individuals bought essential items only when necessary. However, it is noticeable that many individuals view it as a leisure activity these days. In my point of view, I partly agree that it should be considered as a positive phenomenon due to its enormous economic benefits, even though it might encourage rash buying behaviour sometimes. First and foremost, as a consequence of the availability of numerous products and increased comfort level in shopping centres, one tends to spend more money in an impulsive way. Many people buy things which fascinate them even if it has no use in their lives. Moreover, they are further fueled by credit availability, as they do not have to pay the whole amount upfront. Unfortunately, this may land them in deep debt. For instance, according to a recent study conducted by the University of Melbourne in 2018, 43% of youngsters aged below 30 admitted that they had shopped recklessly without evaluating their current financial conditions thoroughly, which sometimes resulted in long-term credit card debts. Nonetheless, shopping is seen as an economic growth factor that produces more employment and triggers the creation of new companies and business expansion. If individuals shop more often, shopping centres and retail stores will have a higher income which can lead to business success and survival. In addition, new companies can be created as there will be more customers willing to buy and support these new products and services. For example, Christmas is one of the seasons where people spent the greatest amount of money shopping. As a result, there is a higher demand for products, services and labour which benefits society considerably. In conclusion, I believe that although irrational shopping habits might be seen as a negative side effect of recreational shopping behaviour, it brings tremendous economic benefits to society as a whole. In the foreseeable future, it is predicted that the number of avid shoppers might increase dramatically because of the increasing popularity of online shopping platforms.