Many young people today know more about international pop or movie stars than about famous people in the history of their own country. Why is this? What can be done to increase young people’s interest in famous people in the history of their country?

In the modern world, there are fewer teenagers, who are interested in the history of their countries and who know a lot about them. The reason for it might be an old-fashioned approach of their school history teachers. To solve this problem, we need to attract young teachers to schools, as well as to increase the number of well-filmed historical movies. To start with, the younger generation prefers to learn more about their favourite idols over historical heroes or important personalities from the past. In most,cases it happens due to boring endless classes of history and old professors, who are used to teaching Change the form of the verb teach show examples in one way. For example, when I was in middle school, my history teacher was around 60 years old. Most of the time during her classes, we had been writing lectures, had been listening to her monotonous speeches and counting minutes until the end of the class. Her soviet approach was irrelevant and could not make us interested in Russian history. To encourage teens to learn their countries’ history, the government should involve young teachers in the teaching process. Moreover, modern historical series or movies have to be released. In contrast to my previous example, when I changed school, my new history teacher was in his 30. He explained the period of Palace Turnovers with the help of associations, games and quizzes. Besides, he suggested we watch historical series about Catherine the Great, that had been filmed 2 years before. The costumes and decorations were amazing, and that helped me to remember well her reign. In conclusion, a lack of interest in history among teenagers happened due to not up-to-date approaches to studying. The solution for this problem might be increasing of young educated teachers, and shooting of series or films about history.