Many organizations and companies ask their staff to wear a uniform. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

In recent years, wearing a uniform at workplaces has risen in popularity. This essay will highlight both the benefits and drawbacks that result from such a trend. To begin with the positives, a significant advantage of having a dress code at work is that it gives a sense of identity for employees who work for their firms. This is because people are asked to wear the same clothes within their companies which leads to a feeling of team spirit and makes the employees feel that they are part of the organization. For example, big companies that require the use of a daily uniform are likely to experience fewer competition or bullying issues between their staff members as they will be treated equally regardless of what they are wearing during their shifts. Besides, wearing a uniform in enterprises can give a first good impression for customers wishing to purchase goods and services in the companies. As people tend to dress smartly and in a professional manner, this often allows potential buyers to trust even more the company, thus interacting with more ease with a uniformed individual. Nevertheless, wearing a uniform at work does present some problems. For instance, some uniforms can at times feel uncomfortable and hamper the performance of the employee. As an example, flight stewardesses have the duty to wear high heels and skirts for a long amount of time which can cause discomfort and tiredness. Considering that the uniform here has to be worn all day, it is no wonder that even the most prepared ones sometimes feel fatigued and perform poorly. Another significant disadvantage of this approach is the lack of uniqueness for individuals working in the same establishment. Unlike with personalised clothing, members from the same firm might all look alike and such an environment is likely to prevent some level of distinction between workers. To conclude, although wearing the same work clothes are beneficial in terms of unifying people and showing a company's good reputation, it is important to consider that they can harm people physically and unable them to remain unique as a person.