Shopping is becoming more and more popular leisure activity. However, some people feel that this has both positive and negative effects. Why is shopping so popular? What effects does its increase in popularity have on individuals and on society?

Going shopping used to be a chore activity and something that people only did out of necessity. Nowadays shopping has become an amusement diversion. Every time you go to any shopping centre, it is always buzzing with people buying and spending money. Although shopping has become so popular, it is arguable that this has a positive impact on our society. Shopping can be a good deal to have fun. Some shoppers find shopping as a hobby that allows them to relax, keeps them entertained and allows them to escape from their normal routine. Hedonic shopping also tends to be really social in nature and is most of the time enhanced by the presence of friends. Finally, shopping is described as an experience often characterised by a sense of accomplishment and offers the opportunity for personal expression. There are negative consequences to this consumerist culture which in my opinion overweight the positives. Shopping can be an addictive hobby for some people and that may have economic consequences for individuals if they spend more money than they can afford. Then, this will create guilt and finally depression. Moreover, studies have shown that those who have the habit of excessive buying practice less sports and spend less time in nature. In conclusion, although there may be a perception of shopping as a leisure activity, we should be aware of the negative effects that overbuying may have on our mental health and we should find other leisure activities that bring feelings of well-being and calmness to ourselves.