Some people think that schools should reward students who show the best academic results, while others believe that it is more important to reward students who show improvements. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A matter of considerable concern in education is the issue of whether only the students having outstanding academic performances should be rewarded or those showing better improvement. While I accept that pupils who have achieved the highest score deserve rewards, I am convinced that learners making great academic effort should be praised. On the one hand, there are some compelling reasons why people might argue that pupils’ excellent performance should be acknowledged. First and foremost, this could create a fair and competitive studying environment at school. As a result, school children are likely to be encouraged to learn and reach the best scores. What’s more, children with innate abilities or outstanding performance can be discovered by applying this approach. My high school, for instance, chooses top achievers with the best results for extra classes to develop their capabilities In science and take them to the national competitions. On the other hand, I firmly believe that offering encouragement to those trying hard is superior. The first advantage is that it creates an equal opportunity for each student to be given rewards, rather than focusing on the top-tier learners. Therefore, instead of being disappointed once competing with their excellent peers, these children will feel motivated if their impressive progress in learning is recognized. In addition, the recognition from schools can foster pupils’ curiosity. In other words, students can access the wealth of knowledge without being under the pressure of credit-driven practice, which pushes learners to thrive for the highest position but suffers from anxiety and stress. In conclusion, providing rewards for those who have improved their academic results wins my total support because this method can boost learning motivation and help underachievers overcome inferiority complex.