Nowadays scientists and tourists can travel to remote natural environments such as the South Pole. What are the advantages and the disadvantages of this development?

In recent years, the trend of discovering isolated areas like the South Pole has risen in popularity for scientific development and tourism. This essay will highlight both the benefits and drawbacks that result from such a fashion. To begin with the positives, a crucial advantage of discovering far-reaching spaces such as the South Pole is that it offers to holiday-makers an exciting destination to discover. This is because remote natural environments are often considered as appealing and mysterious thus, tourists who long for a unique experience at the other side of the globe will likely experience spectacular sceneries they will not being able to forget. Unlike tourism, scientists whose job it is to protect the environment perceived the South Pole as a land of exploration whereby new species are meant to be discovered and protected. Besides, traveling to undiscovered lands often broadens horizons for new cultural perspectives. As the South Pole tends to remain poorly known, the journey is likely to bring greater understanding of the differences between themselves and people from other countries and backgrounds. Nevertheless, planning a trip to unknown territories does present some issues. For instance, mass tourism may jeopardize wild animals and protected flora and fauna when occurring too often. Considering that the South Pole is still a land of discoveries, this could dramatically damage its natural environment. Another important disadvantage of traveling over there for scientists is that it offers little room for protection. It is no wonder that the South Pole has the reputation of having drastic weather predictions and such an environment is likely to physically harm those who wish to settle down for scientific purposes. In conclusion, although choosing unfamiliar destinations to travel to enables vacationers to enjoy their holidays to their fullest and helping wildlife animals to survive, it is important to consider that willing to spend time in vast and cold environments like the South Pole is not as simple as it is and it is important to consider that the limitation of human activity is necessary to provide protection of such spaces.