Some people believe that the government should not spend money on International aid when they have their own disadvantaged people like homeless and unemployed. Do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals hold the view that the government should not spend money on international assistance if they have not solved poverty in their own country. The main reason is that one of the major aims of the government is to improve domestic citizens’ living standards. Thus they should make full use of their money to solve people ’s difficulties that inhibit them to lead a happy life, such as homelessness and unemployment. If government revenue is poured into international aid, it means less or insufficient money will be employed in their own nation’s socially-disadvantaged people, resulting in that the hardships facing people can not be tackled instantly and completely. However, I do not agree with this opinion personally. That is because the problems mentioned above are impossible to be solved within a short time, which is usually associated with some rooted reasons, such as wealth distribution among different classes, education problems and so on. Yet when a country that needs International aid may relate to unpredictable natural disasters, earthquakes and tsunami for example. In order to save lives as much as possible and arrange their life, the nation, especially undeveloped or small countries, longs to receive help from others, ranging from money to people and supplies. Thus, I argue the government of other nations should assist to save lives and cope with the sudden suffering, which is a respect to life and international responsibility. In conclusion, the government should be financially involved in International aid even if there are some disadvantaged people in their own country. That is because participating in International aid could save plenty of lives and poverty can only be solved in a long term.