In education and employment, some people work harder than others. Why do some people work harder? Is it always a good thing to work hard?

In school, some students study harder and devote more energy than others; it is the same with individuals in the workplace. In this essay, I will discuss the reason and analyze whether it is always beneficial for average people. In some people ’s opinion, those people ’s behaviour is rather difficult to imagine or understand, even with the idea that they are stupid. However, compared with temporary happiness gained from watching TV or playing games, these students and workers pursue a sense of fulfilment, because they enjoy the process of concentrating on their work, dedicating to it and achieving something. Besides, the exterior temptation is another reason. For example, some children study hard before a final exam, just because they long for the awards, such as pocket money or a long-expected toy, provided by their parents. Just as I mentioned above, it is a good thing, as individuals could gain mental or material enjoyment by diligent work. On the other hand, this is not always a good thing, since sometimes there are other more important and pressing matters. For instance, people who are not in good condition should prioritize their own body health, which is the basis for their later work and life. If they, ignoring their health, just pay attention to work or study, their health in fact are ruined. Thus, working hard is not always a good thing and people should work according to specific conditions. In conclusion, people work hard for internal and external reasons, in chase of inner peace or outer materials for instance. However, it is not always a good thing if they work too hard to neglect particular cases, jeopardizing their health sometimes.