Nowadays, sports is a big business with high earnings for professional sports people and companies involved both financially and other ways. Is this a positive or negative development for sports? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, the sport has become one of the largest businesses where professional athletes and companies involved earn a significant amount of money every day. In this essay, I will examine why does it ruin the spirit of sport and explain why this trend will continue to deteriorate the overall situation. Previously, sports competitions were designed to provide people with an opportunity to challenge themselves. Indeed, a considerable number of people was viewing such games as football, cricket, or hockey as a perfect option for their spare time spending. However, the situation has changed over the past two decades when more companies decided to invest in sport. For example, if in 2002 a transfer of a good football player cost 15 million euros, this number more than tripled in 2021. This tendency shows that private enterprises are interested in players who are able to provide them with high income, and that is why an abundance of people is calling upon their beloved sporting clubs to follow the traditions, not the will of businessmen. The influence of private companies, however, is not going to be limited by fans and clubs. Indeed, we have already witnessed several times why the sport will not be respected by people in the future as it used to be. The transfer of Neymar from Barcelona to PSG, for instance, has destroyed the faith of millions across the globe since the owner of Paris` club paid 222 million euros for the deal. Sadly, but it has already become a reality in which such sport principles as fair play and transparency are not respected by players and businessmen. Rather than making sport a part of a big business, owners of clubs should be interested in preserving the values of their ancestors. In conclusion, I would like to say that despite all of these factors sports competitions would be loved by the majority of the population. Nevertheless, the next decade could become the period that is going to fully destroy the spirit of sport, and it would be fully transformed into an activity that is only aimed to make money for private enterprises.