Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Means of transportation have become the basic necessities of people as everyone has to commute for work, study, etc. However, whether more funds should be allocated for railways by the government remains a controversial debate. I completely agree that railways should be given importance as they are fast, economical and environment friendly. To embark on, there are many reasons why the government should spend more money on railways. Firstly, railways are faster than road transportation because trains can run at very high speed, whereas for cars and buses it is nearly impossible due to the traffic on the roads. For instance, bullet trains in Japan can accelerate to 500 km/hr and cover long distances in a span of a few hours. Secondly, trains can accommodate more people than the other means of transportation. Furthermore, railways are cheaper than roads, which can be easily afforded by all sections of society. Finally, trains generate a very less amount of pollution when compared to road transportation. Nowadays, due to modern inventions, most locomotives run with the help of electricity instead of fossil fuels. For example, metro trains in India are fully automatic and they are electrically driven and emit zero carbon dioxide. On the other hand, vehicles that run on roads produce enormous amounts of carbon dioxide and pollute our environment which in turn leads to global warming. To conclude, as railway transit is faster, secure and pollution free government should concentrate on developing railway transit by investing more money rather than road transportation.