some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no doubt that learning a second language is beneficial. While there are many benefits to studying a foreign language at primary school, there are some drawbacks to consider. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument and support my view with examples. On the one hand, early age is the best time to learn anything. This is because young children are at a formative stage and can absorb new information quickly compared to adults. As per recent studies, most human brain development happens during 5 to 12 years of age and this is the best time to grasp a skill such as a language. Furthermore, learning an international language will develop curiosity in students. This consequently makes him more receptive to learning in other areas. For instance, as per the research carried out by the University of Melbourne, bilingual pupils learned quicker than others and had superior performances in subjects such as Maths and Science. On the other hand, those opposed to this belief that younger children who begin learning another language suffer a lot of stress. This is because those pupils have more subjects to study at such a young age and this can affect physical development. For example, a student with more curriculum to learn has less time for games and extra curriculum activity that also helps in personal development. However, the primary school syllabus is minimal compare to high school and benefits more. To conclude, while there is some drawback to early learning of an international language such as more stress to students, these must be weighed against quick grasping and support for other skill development. In my view, these benefits outweigh the disadvantages.