In some countries around the world men and women are having babies late in life. What are the reasons? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In many nations and regions such as Europe, Japan, China, etc, the birth rate has a decreasing trend during decades because couples tend to give birth late in life. This phenomenon is caused by different reasons and it may bring both positive and negative impacts to society. In my opinion, the negative influences overweigh the positivities. Nowadays, having babies at a later age due to two reasons. on one hand, with the growing competition and downward economy, many individuals seek career progression as a priority in order to pursue future financial security and stability, they may not pay too much attention to marriage until a later age. On the other hand, with the development of science and medical technology, not only the life quality has improved dramatically, but also life expectancy has expanded during the last two centuries. As a consequence, youngsters would choose to spend more time to enjoy life or continue education to chase their dreams or goals instead of having children at moderate age. In many developed countries, for instance, Japan is well-known for its long average life expectancy and ageing issues which resulted from the vast amount of late marriage and late childbirth populations. furthermore, this could be a serious issue because there would be fewer citizens of working age in the future. Therefore, it is said that giving birth at a later age may be harmful to the economy and often associated with some potential social issues such as increasing ageing populations and burdens in social welfares. First of all, relevant business entities such as the maternal and infant industry, early childhood education would suffer due to a decline in the birthrate. Secondly, the growth of the aged population would take up more partial social expenditures. As a result, funds that would have been spent on other affairs like infrastructures, compulsory education and public housings would be less. In addition, the population of working age would carry more burdens and pressures to pay taxes on these expenses. To sum up, having children at a later age depends on personal choices and it is probably a trend in this modern world. However, it should not be encouraged because of the potential harm to society.