In the past, lectures were used as a way of teaching large number of students, but now with the development of technology for education, many people think there is no justification for attending lectures. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Lectures are a common teaching method to impart knowledge to students and help them grasp firmly useful information. However, some people argue that many technical methods are more interesting and no longer necessary to attend lectures due to the advent of modern technology, which presents knowledge in a vivid and novel way. In my opinion, I oppose this assumption for many reasons. It is undeniable that technology plays an important role in creating an exciting learning environment. Because the audio-visual information can be conveyed easily through computers, PowerPoint, students would feel an interest in learning many challenging subjects such as Maths, Physiology. For example, the working principle of electricity generation gets well through the young minds when using online videos and animation. Moreover, pupils can also study in an overseas university in their houses without taking a plane and living far away from their homes. This allows students to reduce many costs such as tickets, property prices and bring them a comfort zone in studying. Despite the aforementioned benefits of technical teaching methods, lectures are still essential in education. A tutor not only explains the topics provided in the curriculum but also shares his or her experiences and inspiring stories. This could motivate students to achieve higher positions in life and even shape their perceptions and thoughts. In addition, tutors and lecturers can help students address many problems related to their research, which might be easy to understand when explained by someone rather than solved by themselves. To sum up, it is true that learning through modern technologies has many positive impacts on concepts that students hardly grasp. However, I believe that lectures could be replaced completely since students need tutors to guide and adjust their issues in their individual learning processes.