Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in life. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent times, the decision to have children later rather than earlier in life is becoming more popular. This essay would be discussing some of the reasons for this choice as well as its benefits and drawbacks. The right time to bear children has been well documented by several studies although some people choose to put this off till a later time. Career growth is one of the major reasons for this. Nowadays, people are becoming busier than before due to zeal to progress in life and meet up with the never-ending bills that await us. To attain a greater height in one's profession, an individual needs to work both within and outside his/her contract hours which can be really exhausting. Once a child is born, it puts a hold on one's career as the mother and father need to take time off to nurture and care for the child hence so many people decide to hold off until later. One huge advantage of having children late is that it enables the person to plan and save up some money to provide for the needs of the baby. For example, Africa has recorded an enormous increase in the number of mother's trying to give away their babies after birth due to lack of funds. Measures like proper planning financially would help eliminate the desire to carry out such heartbreaking acts. On the other, a decline in fertility and an increase in the chances of having children with disabilities are some of the disadvantages associated with late childbearing. Research has shown that menopause starts at the age of 50 for most women but can also occur earlier, hence increasing the chances of having a child with a fetal anomaly and also decreasing that of fertility. That is why women are encouraged to start childbearing early. In conclusion, while it is becoming increasingly common to have a child later in life with justifiable advantages, I strongly believe that the disadvantages are more than the benefits.