Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that in terms of transportation, the government should invest money in railways rather than roads. I completely agree with this notion and this essay would provide more detail as well as cite relevant examples. How the Government should spend public funds has been debatable over the years. Transportation is a major aspect of our lives, so a careful and wise decision should be taken in that category. The railway system has advantages both on the society and on an individual level. In terms of the society, one major reason why money is better spent on railways and not on roads is that it reduces air pollution. Trains are enormously large and can accommodate so many people at the same time, hence markedly reducing the number of privately owned cars on the roads which causes air pollution that is detrimental to our health. For example, in the last decade, it has been well documented that the rate of respiratory-related illness has doubled owing to the dramatic rise in the number of cars on the roads. On an individual level, using the train is more cost-effective compared to owning a car. Although purchasing a car can help an individual maintain his/her privacy, it can be really expensive. Apart from actually buying a car, a lot of money is also needed to maintain it. For example, in the UK, a vehicle in good-working condition costs nothing less than £5000 which is really high and not everyone can afford such a luxury, whereas only £2.50 is needed for a train journey. In conclusion, some individuals think people in authority should invest in railways rather than roads and I completely agree because it is cheaper for the individual and reduces air pollution.