As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. What are the factors that contribute job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Many people spend most of their adulthood doing work, being satisfied with the job is an essential component of an individual overall health. This essay will first discuss how anticipated salaries and appreciation can lead to job satisfaction where as not all people can expect it because of their essential responsibilities that enable them to work unwillingly in a job. The key factor that causes a person to get satisfied with his occupation is the expected salary. This is to say, when a person gets his deserving pay because of his education and skills, he seems to be happy in his profession. Therefore, resulting in making a person persistent with his job. Also, rewarding a worker’s performance in his workplace leads an individual to get satisfy with his job. A reward in the form of appreciation or promotions, boost up the confidence of a worker. This positive endorsement makes him assertive in his decision of sticking to that particular firm. For instance, the Indian soldiers spend their adult life serving nation because of the awards and dignity they receive from the government due to their bravery actions. However, anticipation of job satisfaction is not factual for all people because of their responsibilities. Many people, sometimes, engage in the work environment going out of their interest due to a great need of money to fulfill their mandatory tasks such as paying rent, buying groceries. This result in enabling people to work in any occupation for their survival. For example, most international students with Master degrees, work in the restaurants against their desires to get money for their substantial expenses. In conclusion, expected pay rate and continuous praise at work inculcates the feelings of job satisfaction in a person, but sometimes to satisfy the basic needs, people have to work without being actually happy in that profession.