Lack of fresh water is becoming a global issue of increasing importance. What problems does this shortage cause? What measures could be taken to overcome these problems?

Water scarcity is becoming an increasingly popular issue across the globe. This essay will discuss the environmental issues caused by water shortage and the possible solutions to mitigate the same by saving the natural resources. The demand for water has considerably increased over time due to the over population and degradation of water resources. Water is a basic need and people utilize it for different purposes and hence, more quantities of water are being used and wasted over time. This over consumption of water has led to scarcity in many countries across the world, which indeed possess a serious threat to the environment. Furthermore, degradation of natural water resources like rivers could cause ecological impacts as the depletion of water might lead to serious risk of extinction of flora and fauna. However, the water shortage could be kept at bay by taking corrective measures to mitigate the problems. Firstly, rainwater harvesting is one of the effective and efficient methods to conserve rainwater by collecting and purifying the rainwater that runs off from roofs, parks, roads, and open grounds for later use. Secondly, the natural waterbodies need to be preserved and well maintained to store a huge quantity of water and to improve the ground water level. Implementing these solutions could significantly reduce the increased demand for freshwater. To summarize, it cannot be refuted that demand for freshwater has emerged to be a global issue over the recent times due to increased population and degradation of waterbodies but taking preventive measures to save the natural resources and proper water management could help overcome the water shortage problems.