Nowadays, many people sleep less than before. What are some of the reasons for this? Do you think this is a positive or negative trend?

These days, lots of people are sleeping less on average per night than they had done previously. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons for this growing trend and give my own opinion. Firstly, I will give reasons for why people are sleeping less than before and secondly I will discuss whether I feel this is a positive or negative thing. It seems clear to me that many people are now forced to work longer and longer hours in their employment. Nowadays, many employers will pay overtime to staff to encourage them to work more hours in the office or elsewhere. For example on special occasions, some businesses will pay double rates to their staff members which means many people want to work these shifts. This often means people find less time for sleep. Another reason for this growing trend could be people using social media and technology before sleep, which makes it more difficult to rest. In my opinion, people who are sleeping less are more at danger of making mistakes and errors at work, which could lead to harm and injuries. If people who use machinery at work don't get enough rest, they could make a mistake that could possibly injure themselves badly. It's also true that people who do not get enough sleep are often more stressed and unhappy than others. I feel that people who are very tired can become irritable much faster than those people who feel well rested. There are many reasons why people nowadays are sleeping less and less, and there are many positives and negatives to this trend. In conclusion, I feel that overall it is much better to sleep more and have a restful night's rest.