A growing number of people feel that animals should not be exploited by people and that they should have the same rights as humans, while others argue that humans must employ animals to satisfy their various needs, including uses for food and research. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Humans are the most intelligent species on the planet Earth, we have been abusing animals since the ancient times for various purposes. However, some people ascertain that animals should not be taken advantage of and should have same rights as humans do. Animals are being abused for various reasons since ancient times, like Food, research, entertainment purposes. Many believe that this acceptable for many reasons as they think anything which is done to ensure human survival is right. Even if this means experimenting on animals to fight and find cure for many deadly diseases. Furthermore, some believe that animals provide more nutritious food to humans, so if we have to kill animals for food or other purposes, then this is morally acceptable. Moreover, animals are being kept in cages in circus and zoos for entertainment of humans. However, I do not believe that these arguments stand up to point if we observe things closely. The first reason being animals feel as much pain as humans do, and they suffer when they are kept in cages for long period of times. Experimenting on animals for unnecessary things should not be encouraged and there should be a certain restrictions experimenting on animals for research purposes. Like, number of animals used for a particular experiment should be limited. Finally, it is proven that humans can get all nutrition and vitamins they need from vegetables and fruits. Therefore, killing animals for food is not an adequate argument. To sum up, although some people argue killing animals for research and food is ethical, I would argue that there is sufficient evidence to demonstrate that this is not the case, therefore, steps must be taken to improve the rights of animals.