Nowadays people use bicycles less as a form of transport. Why is this the case? What can we do to encourage people to use bicycles more?

Notwithstanding a number of benefits that cycling brought about, there has been a prevalent trend that the public use bikes to commute less. This trend could be ascribed for a few reasons and should be addressed by some definite measures. There are evident causes that lead to the resistance of residents about choosing bicycles as a means of transport on a daily basis. From a social perspective, in recent decades, the public has witnessed an explosion in the automobile industry which brings about faster and more convenient cars and motorbikes and thus results in a surge in demands for this kind of transport to optimize their time. For example, a person who spends 15 minutes driving to work can do more various tasks in the morning, such as doing morning exercises, cooking breakfast by themselves, setting up a timeline and so on, than the other opting for a 45-minute-walk. When it comes to safety, this trend is attributed to the society's fear of cycling in the same length with motor vehicles. To explain, many countries in the world, both developed and developing places, do not invest in building dedicated cycling paths that can prevent bicyclists from dangerous practices. A number of solutions could be adopted to tackle the problems associated with the people's transportation habits. The primary solution is that the government should allocate more budget to the construction of cycling paths to secure citizens from accidents. When psychological obstacles are rejected, residents will feel relaxed and use bicycles more often. Another solution is that the tax on heavy motorcycles should be increased. From an economical point of view, the more pressure on their own budget, the less frequently individuals use these modes of transport. Therefore, the need to switch to bicycles that are much cheaper. In conclusion, the unpopularity of bicycles results from the appearance of more modern types of transport and the scarcity of bicycles lanes, so strong remedies should be adopted to curb this situation. It is predicted that unless these measures are implemented, the problem associated with the less usage of bicycles will continue to persist in the future.