In some countries owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might be this case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation? Write at least 250 words.

Having an apartment which you own is really a blessing for some nations. Some communities feel fortunate to have their own land while others opt for renting it. I believe that living in a self-owned home gives a feeling of stability, comfort and security. It depends upon various factors to make a judgment whether it is a positive or negative situation which this essay will discuss further. Firstly, the people who are living in their house don’t have to worry about the landlord nor do they have to pay monthly rent. Secondly, for many people, home is like heaven and people spend a lot on interior designers to make their area worth living. Hence, they have all freedom to reconstruct their infrastructure if they desire to change it. Moreover, other people consider their house as an investment which they expect to appreciate in value in the future. For instance, people who have enough money tend to buy more than one land as real estate, purchased with the intention of earning a return either through rental income or by the future resale. All in all, I feel that whether it is a positive or negative situation is totally dependent on the financial condition of people. For communities who have money to buy a big house, it becomes an asset so owning a house is a positive situation for them. However, most middle-class families have a tendency to buy a house that is more than their financial capability. They fund this by taking out huge loans and as a consequence of this; they end up paying gigantic amounts with high interest on it. On the other hand, they have to pay property taxes and insurance which are directly proportional to the area of a home, also the electricity and maintenance costs get added to their everyday expenses. Moreover, if you own any land then you can also generate income from it by giving it onto rent to the needy. For example, you can also use that area for different purposes like organizing events, weddings, parties etc. of your family members and entertain others as well. To conclude, I would like to reiterate that owning a home becomes a positive situation if that individual is able to afford it financially and maintain it with a proper budget. However, it could turn into a negative situation when one buys it on a loan that is way beyond his repaying capacity.