Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages? Give reason for your answer and include any relevant example from your own knowledge or experience.

In the modern world, people spend most of their time in their jobs, due to which they get very less free time for other recreational activities. Although working late hours helps us to earn more, it adversely affects our health and social life. I believe that the drawbacks of working long hours overweighs its advantages. This essay will further justify my views on my opinion. On one hand, growth of competition and job insecurity has forced many employees to work extra hours as this will help them to earn more income and increase their chances of promotion. Moreover, money mindedness has also forced individuals to voluntarily work for prolonged hours. On the other hand, overtime leads to health disorders. Since humans spend most of their time sitting in front of computers they are more prone to obesity and high blood sugar levels. Also, not getting enough sleep will lead to stress, depression and other problems. Apart from this, long hours of work makes people away from their social and family life. For instance, they miss all family get-togethers and unable to spend quality time with their children due to which the bonding between them weakens. In conclusion, high cost of living and job insecurity lead many workers to work additional hours. However, in the long run this will lead to health problems. they will not be able to spend time with their spouse and children and this will affect their family life. Hence in my opinion the disadvantages of this outweigh its advantages.