The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

The increasing demand for consumer goods causes a great threat to the environment. In my opinion, there are plenty of reasons for this issue. However, I strongly believe that we could take some measures to solve this problem. There are numerous reasons why an increase in manufacturing activities can cause damage to natural habitats. First and foremost, as more goods are produced, the number of wastes and exhaust fumes increases. For example, in the manufacturing process, more toxic wastes and emissions are released from factories to nature, which leads to two serious environmental problems including water pollution and air pollution, causing the death of many animal species. Secondly, most food is sold in non-biodegradable plastic packing. However, these products are very hard to decompose and can remain for thousands of years. As a result, packaging could end up in landfill sites and pose a threat to the living habitats. Nevertheless, individuals and governments can join hands to mitigate the problem. Governments could introduce laws to limit emissions from factories. In addition, they should invest in renewable energy. Take European Union as an example, they comply with a regulation that allows countries to buy carbon credits, ban plastic bags, and encourage renewable energies such as solar and wind power. Moreover, individuals should also try to be greener. In other words, each person should choose products with less packaging and recycle as much as possible, which helps save energy and raw materials. In conclusion, although the expansion of consumer goods production results in environmental destruction because of two main reasons mentioned above, there are actions which can be taken by people and the government in order to deal with this problem.