Today the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree with these views?

In the contemporary world, famous retail products are portrayed with the power of promotional campaigns, which is undermining the actual impact for general well being. This is mainly seen in the fast-paced industry because of over-expectation and pressure to become lucrative. Marketing is generally a communication tool used by enterprises around the globe. However, in this modern era, it has shifted from being a communication tool to a diversion method. Companies override transparency with the use of marketing techniques. For example, Coca-cola has the motto of ‘open happiness’ and uses empathy and compassion as their main concept in advertisements. Subsequently, this beverage has been clinically proven to cause diabetes which is an adverse repercussion to a healthy lifestyle. The telecommunication sector is another industry with the overuse of misleading sales techniques. During the last decade, millions of phones are been introduced to the market promising to change our way of life positively. Although, if we look back, the changes are minimal than forecasted. To illustrate further, During iPhone 11 premier launch, Apple boasted about disruptive technology to the world helping the global community to engage better. Despite the statement, the last few versions of the iPhone only have different numbers of cameras rather than any technological impact to communication. Based on the above details I believe that blue-chip companies implement aggressive sales promotions to edge over competitors which are often drifting away to cater for the core demand. In conclusion, it's certain that advertisement is an essential bridge between consumer and manufacturer. Though, this method seems to disappoint customers due to overwhelming competition, which is mostly seen as an act of beating around the bush without addressing the requirement.