In many countries, financial crimes involving identity theft is increasing. What are the causes of this trend, and what effect does identity theft have on the victims involved? Give reasons for your answer, and provide ideas and examples from your own experience.

Thanks to the technological revolution, while the number of tasks that can be done via the internet has increased to a great extent, cybercriminals pose a threat against internet users by endangering their victim's financial security. A wide variety of reasons simplifies their unethical act and face people with many hardships. In this essay, some of the causes and examples will be discussed First of all, underestimating the role of low level of knowledge among users in flattening the way of robbers to theft their identity is not logical. Not only do they, by setting guessable passwords, encourage lawbreakers to break account's locks, but they also do have no information about extra security programs to protect their important data. Take the senior customers as an example, since they have a lower level of knowledge related to this issue they are simple aims for criminals. Secondly, the relaxation of law undauntedly encourages the cyber-theft to commit crimes. If high ranked officials set higher fines or put offenders in solitary cells, these harsher punishments will keep black-hat hackers from abusing some software bugs and the weak structure of some bank-related applications. Victims of identity theft may lose all of their stored wealth in a second, and as a direct result of this, they can not handle their living costs, especially when they are retired and have no other source of income. Moreover, there is a clearly recognizable relationship between feeling a sense of security and using internet media. The insecurity created by these offenders declines the number of online services customers. The fewer individuals use online applications, the more time and energy waste to do some simple daily tasks. To sum up, while annually tens of thousands of innocent victims would face many different kinds of problems ranging from a sense of insecurity to losing their money, the rate of committing crimes can be declined by increasing the level of awareness of financial companies’ clients and making harsher punishment for criminals.