In many developing countries,there are major problems with the quality of air and water from both industry and construction. What problems has this created? What solutions could be provided to prevent this?

Air and water pollution continues to be an increasing issue worldwide. The quality of breathable air and drinking water are disproportionately declining in developing nations. As the industrial and construction sectors continue to expand, there are several steps that can be taken to mitigate the negative impacts they have on the environment. The rise of industrial and development sectors could be directly tied to increasing water and air pollution. Most developing nations have very few regulations in place to help decrease the impact that these sectors have on the environment. Developing cities with a high volume of industrial and construction activities, such as Addis Ababa, have very little to no laws that control their carbon emission and disposal of waste. Additionally, the influx of corrupt practices prioritizes pocketing money over taking precautionary measures to protect the environment. However, the government in collaboration with various sectors can take some measures to counter these issues. Firstly, the government can enact laws limiting carbon footprints and educate higher officials on safe disposal methods of industrial waste. Furthermore, they can conduct periodical inspections of the site to make sure all regulations are being upheld and issue punishments, such as fines, for any violations. Promoting anti-corruption practices and initiatives can also further alleviate the aforementioned problems. If the governing body increase oversight on activities of industrial and construction sites, the potential of corruption can be avoided. For example, creating a nonpartisan task force that reviews and evaluates the environmental impacts of construction projects and industrial sites. Not only could this deter harmful environmental practices but also keep individuals accountable. In summary, various measures can be taken in order to tackle potential problems associated with the declining quality of air and water. It is crucial that both the governments and pollutant sectors collaborate better in this venture.