Some people think that schools should select students according to their academic abilities, while others believe that it is better to have students with different abilities studying together. Discuss both views and state your own opinion.

People have two polarised ideas of whether classes should be designed by students ’ learning capacity or all students should study together. The essay below aims to elaborate on both views of point before presenting why I personally lean forward to the former conviction. On the one hand, that pupils with different abilities should be taught in the same class is compelling for several reasons. The first one is that this approach is believed to alleviate the discrimination problem in society. It is likely that a weak student can have a sense of inferiority, therefore, he tends not to be involved in studying anymore. Another justification is associated with the bond among students in class. In other words, weak students can be encouraged when studying with their better counterparts. In addition, some straight-A students can reinforce their knowledge by supporting their classmates. On the other hand, I am of the opinion that schooling should be commensurate with learners’ mental abilities. The most significant reason is that students can demonstrate their abilities in the best way in this kind of class. This means students with the agility to absorb the knowledge can be taught more intense lessons to enhance their knowledge. Moreover, weak students do not have to be bombarded with much intensive knowledge that they are not able to absorb. Instead of that, lesson quality can be designed to be associated with these learners’ capacities. Nevertheless, some people hold the view that weak students can study better when studying with good students. However, what they fail to take into consideration is that excellent students are more likely to feel frustrated when the quality of the lesson can meet their expectations. This can entail worsening the quality of education, which is considered as the ultimate factor to develop a country’s economy. In conclusion, while students with different abilities can be attractive with certain benefits, I do believe that, with all aforementioned justifications, the merits brought about by selected-student classes are greater.