Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Governments are allocating funds to rapidly improve their transportation networks, such as railways and highways. Authorities need to focus more on improving or building the railway system than the roads. I strongly agree with the above statement as it helps to reduce the traffic, and also travelling by train is cost-effective. Firstly, using the locomotive for everyday purposes is more convenient as this will decrease the number of vehicles that take the roads; which helps in reducing the congestion, moreover traffic even plays a huge role in air pollution. If the automobiles are less used the air is cleaner too. For example, if the railway system improves & becomes more accessible, people will prefer to travel by train rather than drive to work or to go about their everyday businesses. Secondly, travelling by train is much cheaper than maintaining & spending for a car, which needs to be pumped with fuel & serviced. As gas prices have sky-rocketed in the present, the public will prefer pocket-friendly options for their day to day errands. Hence making it cost-effective for them to choose the railways option as tickets are much cheaper, and the travellers can be in peace of mind. As I conclude, this essay discussed how using the railways is more beneficial than going on the roads and why governments should spend mostly on the railway system. Avoiding congestion and being budget-friendly are the two main reasons why the above decision should be made by the governing bodies & make it convenient for the general public.