Shortage of houses has become a severe problem in the cities today and only the government can solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this.

Many people today feel that limited housing in urban areas can only be seriously addressed by governmental action. In my opinion, private investiture in this area will always be low so governments bear the burden of responsibility. Only limited support for housing problems will come from the private sector. Large real estate and construction firms are mainly motivated to generate the greatest profits and will therefore largely cater projects towards a wealthy clientele. This means building large apartments and accomodations that likely replace smaller apartments, exacerbating any existing housing crisis. In New York City, for example, ambitious developers knocked down government housing projects and built luxury apartments and brownstone homes. These efforts push poor residents out of the city and further away from their work and engender a variety of social problems. In my perspective, the only realistic solution for housing shortages in major urban areas is governmental intervention. Governments can either build themselves or accept bids from construction companies. There are inspirational examples of public works projects in cities all around the world. The typical process is that the government will delineate an undeveloped or poorly planned area for new homes and accept bids from private companies. Since these areas are unavailable for unregulated commercial exploitation, the government holds power over the private companies. Once these projects are completed, they can house thousands of residents affordably, which allows occupants to find quality jobs in the city and eventually move out of these housing developments. In conclusion, the government is the major catalyst in all housing solutions in cities. Governments ought to prioritise these efforts before cities become too gentrified and this hinders upwards social mobility.