Many people believe that zoos have no purpose in today’s world and should be closed. What problems do zoos bring? What are the alternatives to zoos if they are closed? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, it is always argued that whether both animals and human being could benefit from the presence of zoos and would it be better to close them. On one hand, some people are concerning the potentially negative issue that zoos could result in. They believe that cages and living condition are extremely too cramped and narrow, unlike wild animals are possible to live in forests and woods. Just like human being, animals are tending to need liberty and freedom. When animals are kept in captivity in zoos, they would lose their instincts and often become depressed. Most of animals in zoo forget how to hunt even though they have a chance to be back to forests. What’s worse, by keeping animals cooped up in a small cage, there are more opportunities of extinction since they can not get the conditions they need to mate and reproduce. Furthermore, ecosystems can be badly influenced. It is also likely that animals could be abused in some zoos for entertainment in tourist industry. For example, a few years ago, the truth about training elephants in Thailand was exposed in a documentary about animals from BBC. In order to make elephants follow order of trainers, they keep punishing the animals by hurting them. Regard of alternatives, there are many proposals that we have. Wildlife parks have been getting more and more popular in the last ten years. Most importantly, they can provide more space for animals to wander around and those parks have many things in common as their nature homes. In addition, high speed transportation enables us to travel in a couple of hours across the world. In the future, it will be quite common that we travel from Europe to Africa to visit wild animals within one hour with the advanced technology. Therefore, it is no need to build zoos to keep wild animals in captivity. Furthermore, children can also learn habit of animals on some TV programs such as National Geographic. They can get close to know more about them on TV than in zoos. All in all, zoos are not the only way for human being to learn about wild animals. It is also essential that wild animals can live in their nature homes. Scientist are also capable to study them through many kinds of ways.