Competitiveness is a positive quality for people to have in society. How does this competitiveness affect individuals? Do you think it is a positive or a negative trend?

The world in which we are living has many inventions and modern society is the cumulative contributions of many great individuals. One of the reasons for the progress of the modern world is the competitive nature human has with others. In my opinion without competition, speed of nation-building will be slow. Although the competitive environment is the need of the modern era, it is jeopardising the personal life of individuals in many cases. Healthy competition is present in every walk of life. It is our inherent nature. Toddlers who have never been taught to compete would do it naturally to possess some toys with other toddlers. School going children study hard to win the top positions in the class, this behaviour improves their learning capability. People love to enjoy sports but improvement in skill is there when your opponent is more competent. Engineers build roads and Malls up to the utmost capabilities but the buyers always seek a company with the lowest cost and modern and unique architecture. Consumers want to buy quality products but at the lowest rates. On the other hand, the competitive behaviour of the society has paralysed the social life of individuals. People pay more attention to their future than the life they are leading. Youth is sacrificing their enjoyment for the sake of careers. I suggest the mixture of two extremes is a very balanced option. I believe balanced life in all disciplines of life can bring happiness to societies. Individuals should work hard to achieve their goals but not at the cost of their sleep, health and family life. In short, there are cones and pros to competition with other individuals. We should compete with individuals, professionals, nations and keep in mind that humans need love, attention and rest. I believe that positive competition should be encouraged while negative one should be discarded from our life.