Young people are leaving their homes from rural areas to study or work in the cities. What are the reasons? Do the advantages of this development outweigh its disadvantages?

Nowadays, there is an increasing number of young people from rural areas who choose to leave their hometowns for better education and employment opportunities in major cities. This is mainly because the urban areas of those cities are relatively better-developed,which can attract more business cooperations and schools to locate. Although the young generations could achieve their ambitions in those major cities, I still believe that the disadvantages would outweigh the advantage that this trend brings. Most young people would leave the countryside mainly because there are few employment and education opportunities. Large cooperations and famous schools are usually located in major cities, as they need better infrastructure to construct their image and show their competition. In contrast, the rural areas are often domain with the agriculture industry, with less attractiveness to the large corporation and colleges. In that way, if someone from a rural area wants to live a better life, he/she need to leave their home. Although young people would find more opportunities to achieve their ambitions in cities, there are still many disadvantages behind this trend. In the rural areas, with more and more young people moving out, the employment rate would decrease significantly. It would be hard for new industries to develop in those places for the shortage of workers, which can lead to less taxation of the local government. Meanwhile, as most young people leave their hometown, the elderly may be left behind. These elderly people need aged care facilities that need to be supported by local taxation, but this cannot be achieved. In conclusion, with more young people leaving rural areas to major cities, the development of their hometown would be affected by the shortage of young workers, which in turn can lead to a lack of tax revenue for local authorities. There would be many elderly people left in the rural with fewer care facilities.