Some people think that spending a lot on holding wedding parties, birthday parties, and other celebrations is just a waste of money. Others think that these are necessary for individuals and society. Discuss both views, and give your opinion.

In modern society, people hold parties when they have special occasions. While some think that spending a lot of money on these celebrations is a waste, others believe that these are necessary for the public. As far as I am concerned, an enjoyable time is important for individuals. The first aspect to point out is that some hold parties with inadequate attitudes. For example, the young generations tend to consume a lot of alcohol and drugs during their celebrations and their behaviour is not socially accepted. Additionally, these substances are expensive and this has become a social issue that these intoxicated people are involved in fights and destroy public property. Therefore, some think that having special occasions is a waste of money due to these negative attitudes. However, it could be suggested that it is necessary for individuals to have these opportunities with their loved ones. For instance, it is thought among the Japanese that the 20th and 60th of birthdays are very important. Therefore, family members and their friends gather for their birthdays to celebrate them. In this case, they can spend their time together which will help them to have high valued relationships. Therefore, having occasional parties are vital for people. To conclude, some hold celebratory moments with inadequate behaviour, thus, it is understandable that there is an idea of holding gatherings are a waste of money. However, as far as I am concerned, it is important to hold these opportunities in order to make relationships tighter in our society.